Tonight: Yeshiva Torah Vodaas 91st Annual Dinner


torah-vodaas-smallAmongst the increasing number of outstanding citadels of Torah learning today in America, Yeshiva Torah Vodaas stands tall, proud of its long distinguished history. YTV was established in September 1918 by a small group of dedicated observant immigrant parents in Brooklyn deeply concerned about Torah education for their children. The United States was a true haven to pioneering immigrants, offering every liberty and opportunity except that of Torah education.  The parents intensely desired their sons to have the same Torah learning opportunities as in the old European hometowns and shtetls. Twenty students comprised the opening class. The legendary Rav Shraga Feivel Mendlowitz zt”l served as the Yeshiva’s first menahel and as a guiding spirit of growth.

As Jewish immigration continued the Yeshiva worked ever harder and quickly outgrew its temporary home in a small shul on Keap Street in Williamsburg. It outgrew other short-term lodgings, too, until a new building was erected at 206 Wilson Street.  

 Since then, the Yeshiva has grown considerably. It now occupies a campus on East Ninth Street in Kensington/Flatbush, a Beis Medrash facility in Monsey, serving a student body, from nursery through post-graduate kollel, which numbers almost 2,000 students.

 Since its inception, YTV has had a profound influence on America’s observant Jewry. Its   alumni are found in every facet of religious life, as spiritual leaders of congregations, teachers in yeshivas, and officers of religious and charitable organizations. Others are pious businessmen and professionals, fully participating, contributing members.

 Some have also served as political statesmen, enhancing the settings for all yeshivos and for  Jews throughout the world. Rav Shraga Feivel’s leadership directly resulted in YTV’s readiness to serve all of Klal Yisroel. That leadership continues to this very day.

  The roshei yeshiva who have taken part in YTV’s Torah glory, literally a golden chain of tradition, were: Rav Shraga Feivel Mendlowitz, zt”l (1886-1948); Rav  Dovid Lebowitz, zt”l (1889-1941); Rav Shlomo Heiman, zt”l (1892-1945); Rav  Reuven Grozovsky, zt”l (1896-1956); Rav Moshe Dov Ber Rivkin, zt”l; Rav Aaron Yeshaya Shapiro, zt”l, Rav Uri Meir Kahanow, zt”l; Rav Shmuel Kushelevitz, zt”l (d.  1963); Rav Yaakov Kamenetsky, zt”l (1890-1986); Rav Gedalia Schorr, zt”l (1910-1979); Rav Moshe Dov Ber Rivkin, zt”l (d. 1976); Rav Reuven Fain, zt”l; Rav Elya Chazan, zt”l; Rav Simcha Sheps, zt”l (1908-1998); Rav Elazar Kahanow, zt”l (d.2006); Rav Avrohom Pam, zt”l  (1913-2001); Rav Asher Katzman, zt”l; Rav Nosson Eliyahu Gertzulin, zt”l (1919-2006); and Rav Nesanel Quinn, zt”l  (1910-2005).

They were all preeminent Roshei Yeshiva whose names continue to reverberate throughout the entire world. They were the predecessors to, and colleagues of: Rav Yisroel Belsky; Rav Elya Katz; Rav Yisroel Reisman; Rav Yosef Savitsky; Rav Yitzchok Sekula; and Rav Moshe Wolfson, regal names of today’s Roshei Yeshiva of Yeshiva Torah Vodaas.

 Yeshiva Torah Vodaas continues to serve Klal Yisroel in its 10th decade with its superb Torah learning, led by gedolei Torah, as well as its excellent elementary and high school secular studies departments.  

Tonight, the Yeshiva’s 91st Annual Dinner – titled “Continuing Our Torah Legacy” – will be celebrated at Ateres Chaya Hall in Boro Park.

The awardees are Rav Reuven Scheiner with the Kesser Torah Award for 50 years of harbotzas Torah in the yeshiva; Mr. and Mrs. Moshe Zakheim, the Guests of Honor; Rabbi Shmaryahu Shulman with the Rav Shraga Feivel Mendlowitz Memorial Award; Dr. Peter and Dr. Laurel Steinhertz with the Rofeh Cholim Humanitarian Alumnus Award; Mr. and Mrs. Boruch Rosner with the Parents of the Year Award, and Mr. and Mrs. Ezriel Kostam with the Young leadership Award. A special tribute will be made to the class of 1960 and the evening will be dedicated in memory of R’ Yitzchok Berger z”l by his children, R’ Sruli, Leibi and Yossie Berger.

The evening will begin with a reception at 5:30 p.m. and the dinner at 6:30 p.m.

{Dovid Newscenter}


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here